Supervision: One construct, many practices?

Social Work Research in New Zealand

Liz Beddoe

On Wednesday this last week I presented a paper at JSWEC in England. This presentation was more challenging than usual as we were locked out of the PC in the room and I had lost my notes somewhere in transit. So I gave this 20 minute paper from memory. There’s a link to the slides below. So if you were present you might comment on what I remembered and what I left out. I was lucky to have Harry Vennings in the room- cartoonist and creator of Clare in the Community. This first cartoon captures the essence of my talk. Is supervision a portable construct?

Vennings suitcase

Supervision is frequently presented as a universal artefact of social work. In the Anglophone world the meaning of its practice is assumed in a conversation about supervision. But what might work well in some contexts might not work elsewhere and questions arise. What…

View original post 141 more words

Leave a Reply

